- The Online Guide to Travel.

Vatican City Travel Guide - Vatican City (Holy See) Travel Notes

About Travel Notes Budget Travel City Guides Countries Feedback Travel Photos Travel Videos Travel Writing

Search The Web Add Travel URL - Advertise on Travel Notes - Link To Travel Notes - Travel Blogs - Travel Gram - Travel News - Updates
Travel Notes: Europe: Vatican City Travel Notes

Vatican City Travel Notes

Vatican Flag

Short URL:

Vatican City Travel and Tourism on Travel Notes


Vatican City Travel and Tourist Information with links to official travel and tourism websites and state resources for visitors to The Vatican (Holy See).

About The Vatican

The Holy See, under the absolute authority of the Pope of the Roman Catholic church, is the smallest independent country in the world.

The Holy See

When in Rome, you really should visit the Vatican.

Map of Vatican City (Holy See)

Although established in 1929, under terms of the Lateran Treaty, St Peter's Square is still subject to the authority of the Italian police.

Weather in Europe:
Local weather forecasts for destinations around Europe.

Memory and Identity: Conversations at the Dawn of a Millennium - by Pope John Paul II

Birthplace of Benedict XVI:
Live from Marktl on April 19th, 2005 when it was announced that the new pope was a German; born in their sleepy Bavarian village.

Farewell Pope John Paul:
A look back at the world travels of His Holiness Pope John Paul II.

On The Papabili Trail in Northern Italy:
Visiting the birthplaces of four Italians who many wanted to see as Pope.

The Holy See:
The official site of the Papal City could have been designed by Michelangelo.

Pontifical Council for Culture:
John Paul II founded the Pontifical Council of Culture on 20th May, 1982 with the aim of establishing dialogue between the Church and the cultures of the world.

Visiting The Vatican Museums:
Vatican museums are closed on Sundays, except for the last Sunday of the month when entrance is free 9-12.30.

Vatican City

For the tourist, The Vatican is a part of things to see in north-west Rome (Italy).

It is surrounded by medieval and Renaissance walls and has six gates.

St Peter's Basilica is the world centre of the Roman Catholic faith, with the great St Peter's Square in front of it.

The Sistine Chapel has famous ceiling frescoes painted by Michelangelo and restored in the 1980s.

Raphael's Rooms are the papal apartments with frescoes painted by the Italian artist Raphael.

The Vatican's museums are outstanding and the Vatican Library has a priceless collection of ancient manuscripts and more than 1 million bound volumes.

Many of the most renowned artists and architects of the Italian Renaissance were commissioned by popes to work on the Vatican's buildings.

The Papal Palace complex contains more than 1,000 rooms and houses the papal apartments, the government offices of the Roman Catholic church, several chapels and museums, and a library.

Citta del Vaticano:
Visit Chistus Rex for Christian commentaries and more than 250 images from around the Vatican.

Cappella Sistina:
More about the Vatican's Sistine Chapel.

Musei Vaticani:
The founding of the Vatican Museums can be traced back to 1503 when the newly-elected Pope, Julius II della Rovere, placed a statue of Apollo in the internal courtyard of the Belvedere Palace built by Innocent VIII.

Vatican Guide:
Rome and Vatican private tours operated by Cristiano Pellegrini, a licensed Rome Guide and Official Vatican Tour Guide.

Add a Business Listing - Add a Destination Guide - Add a Place to Stay.

Join Travel Notes on Facebook If you find Travel Notes useful, please take a moment to like us on Facebook and share with your friends on social media.

Europe Index - Europe Tourism - Europe Travel Websites.

Travel Notes Meta Search:  

Michel - Travel Writer, Photographer and Internet PublisherSearch Meta-Travel
Meta-TravelFacebookTwitterGplusInstagramLinkedInvideo channel

Travel Social Media.

Custom Travel Search

Vatican Reading Room

Guide to the Vatican: Including Saint Peter's Basilica and the Vatican Museums Saints and Sinners: A History of the Popes

The Vatican - Saints and Sinners - Rome.

Contact Travel Notes.
Add URL to Travel Notes Travel and Tourism Websites and Blogs

Car Hire Cruises Flights Hostels Hotels RTW Tours Vacations Weather Web Reservations
Travel Notes Index: Europe: Vatican City Guide - Travel Apps